Monday 6/3 Fussen, Germany and Reutte, Austria

Written Wednesday, June 5 at 10:27pm and 11:15pm

The weather did not improve Monday. More cold. More rain. I drove to Lechfell Waterfal and continued across the river into Austria. I got out of the car to visit Ehrenberg Fortress but it was freezing! So I turned around and retreated. A short while later I pulled over and took some pictures from the side of the road. By now it was mid afternoon and I was hungry, so I drove into the zentrum and found a great grocery store next to Fresnapf! Naturally I stopped inside the pet store before eating at the grocery store! FroliCat was on the shelf; in fact, Fresnaph sells FroliCat in ten countries. I believe our total country tally is north of twenty! Afterwards I did a little grocery shopping and drove back to Fussen, Germany continued for another drive by castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Then I extied the Romantic Road to drive around Lakes Bannwaldsee and Forggensee. Despite the rain the scenery was beautiful and the driving spirited. It reminded me exactly why I am driving through Germany and the Alps! Then it was back to Hotel Villa Toscana. A little bit of Italy in Germany; why not?

Leave a comment